Download completed Wyoming divorce, annulment, or legal separation forms based upon the answers you provide in the online interview. We provide Wyoming State Approved downloadable Wyoming divorce kits, complete with divorce instructions, to allow you to obtain a divorce in Wyoming. Download your uncontested or no fault Wyoming divorce papers and eliminate any divorce attorney.

Overview of Wyoming Divorce

Divorce can seem like the end of the world: it’s confusing, overwhelming, and fraught with uncertainty. Worst of all, it can feel like you’re going through the whole ordeal completely alone, which is surely one of the most depressing and painful feelings to feel during a divorce. And to top it off, divorce can involve a mountain of complex legal paperwork, confusing state laws, obscure legal procedures, and waiting periods.

That’s where the team steps in. Our crew of veteran divorce professionals are experts in handling divorce cases in every US state as well as in every Canadian province. Not only that, but we do the hard work for you, by completing your paperwork and preparing everything that you will need to complete your divorce. We do all this so you can focus on more important parts of your life — like yourself, your family, or your career. When you are ready to divorce, you want the team behind you.

Like every state, Wyoming has specific state laws and regulations that you should know in order to obtain your divorce. So to help you prepare for your Wyoming divorce, we have prepared this brief summary of some of the most important, need-to-know facts for getting a divorce in Wyoming.

Residency Requirements

Every state has particular residency requirements that a petitioner must satisfy before they can file for a divorce. In Wyoming, those requirements are:

  • The filing spouse must have lived in Wyoming for at least 60 days prior to filing;
  • However, if you were married in Wyoming, and the filing spouse has lived in Wyoming from the time you were married to the time the divorce is filed, there is no residency requirement. If this is the case, you likely already have lived in Wyoming for 60 days.

In Wyoming divorces, there is a 20-day waiting period before your divorce can be finalized.

Legal Grounds

Every divorce has a reason, and this reason is called the “grounds” for the divorce. Most states acknowledge both no-fault grounds and “general” grounds, which are also called at-fault grounds. In a no-fault divorce, you do not assign blame to you or your spouse – as far as the court is concerned, no one is responsible for the divorce. We do uncontested, no-fault divorces every day here at

By contrast, general or at-fault grounds correspond to specific wrongdoings that one spouse engaged in that have resulted in the divorce. These grounds must be proven in court, with evidence. Common fault grounds include adultery, addiction to drugs or alcohol, and incurable insanity.

Citing an at-fault grounds for your divorce will make your case too complex to file online. The vast majority of divorces, however, are uncontested no-fault divorces; these are the kinds of cases we are experts at handling here at

Wyoming acknowledges one no-fault ground for divorces:

  • Irretrievable breakdown of the marriage due to irreconcilable differences;

The state of Wyoming considers only one situation as a valid ground for a general or fault divorce:

  • Incurable insanity leading to confinement in a mental institution for two years.

Child Custody & Child Support in Wyoming Divorces

Child Custody

In Wyoming, courts make child custody decisions according to what they view to be in the best interest of the child. This involves considering numerous factors, including: any and all special needs of the child (including any physical or mental handicaps), the ability or desire of each parent to address and satisfy the child’s needs, any history or evidence of domestic violence, and even the preference of the child, if he or she is old enough to make such an informed decision.

You and your spouse may opt to draft your own custody arrangement, and the court will consider this in its ruling. Any modifications to the court’s custody order must be because of substantial or meaningful changes to the primary custodian’s living situation.

Child Support

Wyoming calculates child support payments based on the Income Shares Model. This formula uses a state guideline to calculate support as a proportion of you and your spouse’s combined incomes. Special costs associated with childcare, or child support payments due to other children, typically reduce the amount of monthly support. Support usually continues until the child graduates high school or turns 19.

You or your spouse may also be ordered to pay medical expenses or provide health insurance to any minor children from your marriage.

You can view the guidelines for child support in Wyoming at the Division of Child Support, here.

Property Division and Wyoming Divorce

When you get a divorce, the property, assets, money, and debt you accumulated with your spouse are subject to division by the Wyoming courts. Anything you owned prior to getting married is “separate” property and is not subject to division.

Wyoming is an equitable distribution state, which means that the court will seek to divide your marital estate in a fair and equitable manner, based upon consideration of a number of factors. Unlike community property states, equitable distribution does not necessarily mean an even, 50-50 split of all your property.

The courts in Wyoming will consider numerous factors when deciding how to divide your marriage estate. These factors include how long you were married, how old you and your spouse are, how much income you earn, if your marital estate has any incoming producing assets and if so, how much, and your financial and economic circumstances at the time of divorce.

Alimony and Financial Support in Wyoming Divorce

The courts in Wyoming may decide to grant alimony, or spousal support, to one spouse if his or her income and standard of living will be significantly reduced because of the divorce. The Wyoming courts can order alimony be paid in a lump sum, monthly payments, or over a set period of time. When determining how much one spouse will pay to the other, the court will consider a number of factors.

These factors include how long you were married, your incomes and occupations, how old you and your spouse are, your health, if one spouse contributed to the wealth or education of the other, if one spouse was primarily a homemaker, and your employable and marketable skills. The goal is to provide supplemental income that helps one spouse maintain the quality of life he or she enjoyed prior to getting married, and also to provide time for the less-wealthy spouse to become self-sufficient.

Remember that while every state has unique and sometimes obscure divorce laws and policies, our team of experienced divorce professionals are experts in every nuance and detail of Wyoming divorce law. No matter where you live in Wyoming, we are here at, ready to help you through every step of your divorce. We ensure that your Wyoming divorce goes quickly and without problems, so you can begin rebuilding and living your life, on your terms. If you are ready to divorce, choose