Download completed Arkansas divorce, annulment, or legal separation forms based upon the answers you provide in the online interview. We provide Arkansas State Approved downloadable Arkansas divorce kits, complete with divorce instructions, to allow you to obtain a divorce in Arkansas. Download your uncontested or no fault Arkansas divorce papers and eliminate any divorce attorney.

Overview of Arkansas Divorce

Divorce can seem like the end of the world: it’s confusing, overwhelming, and fraught with uncertainty. Worst of all, it can feel like you’re going through the whole ordeal completely alone, which is surely one of the most depressing and painful feelings to feel during a divorce. And to top it off, divorce can involve a mountain of complex legal paperwork, confusing state laws, obscure legal procedures, and waiting periods.

That’s where the team steps in. Our crew of veteran divorce professionals are experts in handling divorce cases in every US state as well as in every Canadian province. Not only that, but we do the hard work for you, by completing your paperwork and preparing everything that you will need to complete your divorce. We do all this so you can focus on more important parts of your life — like yourself, your family, or your career. When you are ready to divorce, you want the team behind you.

Like every state, Arkansas has specific state laws and regulations that you should know in order to obtain your divorce. So to help you prepare for your Arkansas divorce, we have prepared this brief summary of some of the most important, need-to-know facts for getting a divorce in Arkansas.

Residency Requirements

Every state has particular residency requirements that a petitioner must satisfy before they can file for a divorce. In Arkansas, those requirements are:

  • You or your spouse must have lived in Arkansas for at least 60 days prior to filing.
  • You must file in the county in which you reside.

In Arkansas divorces, your divorce will not be finalized until at least 30 days after you file.

Legal Grounds

Every divorce has a reason, and this reason is called the “grounds” for the divorce. Most states acknowledge both no-fault grounds and “general” grounds, which are also called at-fault grounds. In a no-fault divorce, you do not assign blame to you or your spouse – as far as the court is concerned, no one is responsible for the divorce. We do uncontested, no-fault divorces every day here at

By contrast, general or at-fault grounds correspond to specific wrongdoings that one spouse engaged in that have resulted in the divorce. These grounds must be proven in court, with evidence. Common fault grounds include adultery, addiction to drugs or alcohol, and incurable insanity.

Citing an at-fault grounds for your divorce will make your case too complex to file online. The vast majority of divorces, however, are uncontested no-fault divorces; these are the kinds of cases we are experts at handling here at

Arkansas acknowledges only one no-fault ground for divorce in the state:

  • You have lived apart and not cohabited with your spouse for 18 months.

Arkansas courts also acknowledge what are called “covenant marriages.” The courts in Arkansas recognize several at-fault or general grounds that apply to these marriages, including:

  • Adultery;
  • Felony conviction;
  • Confinement in a mental institution due to incurable insanity for three years;
  • Domestic violence or cruelty;
  • Addiction to drugs or alcohol;
  • Abandonment;
  • You have lived separate and not cohabited for two years without mutual consent, or one year with mutual consent.

Child Custody & Child Support in Arkansas Divorces

Child Custody

In Arkansas, courts make child custody decisions according to what they view to be in the best interest of the child. This involves considering numerous factors, including: any and all special needs of the child (including any physical or mental handicaps), the ability or desire of each parent to address and satisfy the child’s needs, any history or evidence of domestic violence, and even the preference of the child, if he or she is old enough to make such an informed decision.

You and your spouse may opt to draft your own custody arrangement, and the court will consider this in its ruling. Any modifications to the court’s custody order must be because of substantial or meaningful changes to the primary custodian’s living situation.

Child Support

Arkansas calculates child support payments based on the Percentage of Income formula. This formula uses a state guideline to calculate the child support amount as a percentage of only the non-custodial parent’s income. Special costs associated with childcare, or child support payments due to other children, typically reduce the amount of monthly support. Support usually continues until the child graduates high school or turns 18.

You or your spouse may also be ordered to pay medical expenses or provide health insurance to any minor children from your marriage.

Property Division and Arkansas Divorce

When you get a divorce, the property, assets, money, and debt you accumulated with your spouse are subject to division by the Arkansas courts. Anything you owned prior to getting married is “separate” property and is not subject to division.

Arkansas is an equitable distribution state, which means that the court will seek to divide your marital estate in a fair and equitable manner, based upon consideration of a number of factors – unlike community property states, this does not necessarily mean an even, 50-50 split.

The courts in Arkansas will consider numerous factors when deciding how to divide your marriage estate. These factors include how long you were married, how old you and your spouse are, how much income you earn, if your marital estate has any incoming producing assets and if so, how much, and your financial and economic circumstances at the time of divorce.

Alimony and Financial Support in Arkansas Divorce

The courts in Arkansas may decide to grant alimony, or spousal support, to one spouse if his or her income and standard of living will be significantly reduced because of the divorce. When determining how much one spouse will pay to the other, the court will consider a number of factors.

These factors include how long you were married, your incomes and occupations, how old you and your spouse are, your health, if one spouse contributed to the wealth or education of the other, if one spouse was primarily a homemaker, and your employable and marketable skills. The goal is to provide supplemental income that helps one spouse maintain the quality of life he or she enjoyed prior to getting married, and also to provide time for the less-wealthy spouse to become self-sufficient.

Remember that while every state has unique and sometimes obscure divorce laws, our team of experienced divorce professionals are experts in every nuance and detail of Arkansas divorce. No matter where you live in Arkansas, we are here at, ready to help you through every step of your divorce. We ensure that your Arkansas divorce goes quickly and without problems, so you can begin rebuilding and living your life, on your terms. If you are ready to divorce, choose